Faculty Awards 2013


The Faculty of Science (FoS) congratulates the winners of this year’s Faculty Teaching, Research and Service Awards.


A ceremony was held on 22 November 2013 at the University Hall Auditorium to honour the 206 winners who have attained outstanding achievements and contributions to FoS.


This year's winners are:

Faculty Teaching Excellence Award AY2012/2013
No. Name Department
1 Prof IP Yuen Kwong, Alex Biological Sciences
2 Prog TUCKER-KELLOGG, Greg Biological Sciences
3 Dr YEO Chong Jinn, Darren Biological Sciences
4 Dr van WYHE, John Michael Biological Sciences
5 Prof ZHOU Weibiao Chemistry
6 Dr LEE, Adrian Michael Chemistry
7 Dr TAN Sue Qing, Emelyn Chemistry
8 Prof CHAN Heng Huat Mathematics
9 Assoc Prof CHEW Tuan Seng Mathematics
10 Assoc Prof TAN Kai Meng Mathematics
11 Assoc Prof TAN, Victor Mathematics
12 Dr KU Cheng Yeaw Mathematics
13 Dr NG Kah Loon Mathematics
14 Assoc Prof CHAI Li Lin, Christina Pharmacy
15 Assoc Prof CHAN Lai Wah Pharmacy
16 Dr CHEW Eng Hui Pharmacy
17 Dr LIM Fung Chye, Perry Pharmacy
18 Assoc Prof CHAN Aik Hui, Phil Physics
19 Assoc Prof GONG Jiangbin Physics
20 Assoc Prof SOW Chorng Haur Physics
21 Assoc Prof TAY Seng Chuan Physics
22 Dr TAN Meng Chwan Physics
23 Dr Chammika N B UDALAGAMA Physics
24 Mr HONG Chong Ming, Kenneth Physics
25 Assoc Prof LIM Tiong Wee Statistics & Applied Probability
26 Ms CHEN Peiyi Statistics & Applied Probability
Honour Roll AY2012/2013 
No. Name Department
1 Assoc Prof Kunchithapadam SWAMINATHAN Biological Sciences
2 Assoc Prof LAI Yee Hing Chemistry
3 Dr HO Han Kiat Pharmacy
4 Assoc Prof CHUNG Keng Yeow Physics                                            
Excellent Young Teacher Award AY2012/2013 
No. Name Department
1 Dr ZHANG Sheng                                    


Teaching Assistant (Full-time) Award AY2012/2013 
No. Name Department
1 XU Weiting Biological Sciences
2 LOW Yi Lian Biological Sciences
3 TAN Hui-Ning Amanda Biological Sciences   
4 FUNG Fun Man Chemistry
5 LIM Yen Kheng Physics                                              
6 NG Wei Khim Physics
7 QIU Leiju                                                   Physics          
Teaching Assistant (Part-time) Award AY2012/2013 
No. Name Department
1 CHNG You Rong Biological Sciences
2 NEO Mei Lin Biological Sciences
3 ONG Li Ying, Jasmine Biological Sciences   
4 ZENG Yiwen Biological Sciences   
5 CHEN Litai, Jeremiah Chemistry
6 Irwan Iskandar Bin ROSLAN                          
7 LEE Si Ni Chemistry
8 YU Zongrong, Wesley Chemistry
9 HUANG Mengmin Mathematics
10 LI Xudong Mathematics
11 ZHANG Hong Mathematics
12 ZHOU Feng Mathematics
13 CHAN Chun Yip Pharmacy
14 HO Si Han, Sherman Pharmacy
15 SIEW Yin Yin Pharmacy
16 TAN Kheng Lin, Meg Pharmacy
17 TEO Yi Ling Pharmacy
18 ONG Meng Hwee, Victor Statistics & Applied Probability
19 PHAM Thi Kim Cuc Statistics & Applied Probability
20 TAN Siew Li, Linda Statistics & Applied Probability
21 WANG Chen Statistics & Applied Probability               
Outstanding Scientist Award AY2012/2013 
No. Name Department
1 Assoc Prof LU Yixin Chemistry
2 Prof GAN Wee Teck Mathematics
3 Prof TAN Ser Peow Mathematics
4 Prof XIA Yingcun                                          Statistics & Applied Probability               
Young Scientist Award AY2012/2013 
No. Name Department
1 Assoc Prof CHEN Wei Chemistry
2 Dr YEUNG Ying Yeung Chemistry
3 Assoc Prof Alexandre CHAN Pharmacy
4 Dr ARIANDO Physics
5 Dr Leontine ALKEMA                                    
Statistics & Applied Probability               
Outstanding Service Award 2013 
No. Name Department
1 CHOO Beng Goon, Joan                                 
Biological Sciences                                
2 HO Chong Mun Biological Sciences
3 LIEW Chye Fong Biological Sciences   
4 Salim Bin BIDIN Biological Sciences   
5 SOONG Beng Ching Biological Sciences   
6 TAN Jee Hian, Allan
Biological Sciences   
7 TAN Lu Wee
Biological Sciences   
8 TAY Bee Ling
Biological Sciences   
9 WONG Wai Peng
Biological Sciences   
10 YAN Tie
Biological Sciences   
11 YONG Ann Nee
Biological Sciences   
12 CHAN Yi Zhen June
13 JIANG Xiaohui
14 LEE Yoon Kuang
15 LIM Nyoon Keow Chemistry
16 PHUA Wei De Victor Chemistry
17 TAN Geok Kheng Chemistry
18 TAN Lay San Chemistry
19 TOH Soh Lian Chemistry
20 WONG Lai Kwai Chemistry
21 AU Kasie Dean's Office
22 KANG Siew Eng Dean's Office
23 LAU Pei Rong Dean's Office
24 LIM Guek Khim Dean's Office
25 LIM Yi Mei, Joanna Dean's Office
26 SOH Bee Kwan, Priscilla Dean's Office
27 SOH Kok Hoe Dean's Office
28 Syam Kumar PRABHAKARAN Dean's Office
29 TAN Shu Wei Dean's Office
30 TAN Siow Lin (Chen Xiaoling) Dean's Office
31 TAY Ket Ling Dean's Office
32 TEH Wei Fong Dean's Office
33 TEO Chwee Hoon Dean's Office
34 WEE Chee Seng, James Dean's Office
35 PANG Cheng Yee Mathematics
36 WONG Mei-Lin Lynette Mathematics
37 CHEN Yee Ju Pharmacy
38 CHEW Ying Ying Pharmacy
39 GOH Min-Wei, Jeremy Pharmacy
40 NG Sek Eng Pharmacy
41 OH Tang Booy Pharmacy
42 TAN Bee Jen Pharmacy
43 TEO Say Moi nee Lim Pharmacy
44 WONG Mei Yin Pharmacy
45 Abdul Karim s/o IDROOS Physics
46 ANG Han Siong Physics
47 LEE Soo Mien Physics
48 LIM Geok Quee Physics
49 NG Seok Guat (Huang Xiuyue) Physics
50 PHUA Swee Wah nee Choo Physics
51 TEO Hwee Sim (Zhang Huixin) Physics
52 WONG How Kwong Physics
53 CHOW Peck Ha, Yvonne Statistics & Applied Probability
54 SU Kyi Win Statistics & Applied Probability
Commendation Award 2013 
No. Name     
1 Kaka SINGH Biological Sciences
2 NG Swee Ui @ Ng Swee Kee                                
Biological Sciences
3 Rawi Bin SAIPAN Biological Sciences                                     
4 Abdul Rahaman Bin MOHD NOOR
5 LIM May Lee Chemistry
6 Valli d/o ARUNASALAM Chemistry
7 HO Miew Po
8 LIM Sing

Some photos taken at the award ceremony:


FacultyAward2013 188 
Awardees and supporters at the award ceremony.


FacultyAward2013 13
Dr John van Wyhe, from the Department of Biological Sciences, receiving his Faculty Teaching Excellence Award from the Guest of Honour University Professor Chong Chi Tat.


 FacultyAward2013 144
Mdm Chow Peck Ha, Yvonne, from the Department of Statistics & Applied Probability, receiving her Outstanding Service Award from the Dean, Professor Andrew Wee.


 FacultyAward2013 202
Both winners of the Outstanding Teaching Assistant (Full Time) Award, Ms Qiu Leiju and Mr Lim Yen Kheng, from the Department of Physics.


FacultyAward2013 201
Winners from the Department of Chemistry. From left: Assoc Prof Lu Yixin, Assoc Prof Lai Yee Hing, Prof Wong Ming Wah, Richard, Mr Fung Fun Man, Dr Zhang Sheng and Dr Yeung Ying Yeung.


 FacultyAward2013 196
A sumptuous tea reception after the ceremony.


FacultyAward2013 203
Dr Chammika N B Udalagama, from the Department of Physics, with a supporter.