Faculty of Science 85th Anniversary

The Faculty of Science commemorated its 85th anniversary on 8th November 2014 with a celebratory dinner graced by President Tony TAN Keng Yam, NUS Board of Trustees Chairman Mr WONG Ngit Liong, NUS Deputy President and Provost Prof TAN Eng Chye, current and past Deans of Science, together with about 300 distinguished guests, alumni, faculty, staff and students. President Tony Tan’s association with the Faculty of Science goes way back to 1959 when he was a student at the Department of Physics, and throughout his tenure as a faculty member, Vice Chancellor and now Chancellor of NUS.


From its humble beginnings in 1929 as a single department in Raffles College, with just 3 staff members and 10 students, the Faculty of Science has evolved into one of the largest Faculties in the University and is now ranked among the best in the world.


For 85 years, the Faculty has provided quality science education to generations of students. As highlighted by President Tony Tan in his speech, “….the Science Faculty has remained steadfast in its task of equipping our people with the knowledge and skills needed for Singapore’s development…. With a curriculum that provides strong domain knowledge, transferrable skillsets, and global perspectives, the Faculty is in a very good position to prepare its students for their future careers.”


Over the years, the Faculty has evolved from primarily a teaching Faculty to a research-intensive Faculty, renowned for its cutting-edge research. “The Faculty’s high-impact research and collaborations with industry and the public sector, also enable it to translate its research into products and services that benefit society.”


The Faculty continued its tradition of presenting its prestigious Alumni Awards to 17 distinguished and outstanding Science alumni in recognition of their achievements in national leadership, service and research excellence, as well as contributions towards the betterment and promotion of Science.


Moving forward, the Faculty of Science will continue to pursue the pinnacle of Science education and research and execute impactful research projects that will change lives.


Guest of Honour, President Tony Tan Keng Yam highlighted FoS' contributions to Singapore's development in his speech.


Cake-cutting with former Science deans to commemorate Science’s 85th anniversary.
(From left: Prof Bernard TAN; NUS Vice President of University and Global Relations Prof Andrew WEE; NUS Provost and Deputy President (Academic Affairs) Prof Tan Eng
Chye; Singapore President Tony Tan Keng Yam; NUS Chairman Mr Wong Ngit Liong; current Science Dean Prof SHEN Zuowei; Prof LAI Choy Heng; and Dr Gloria LIM)


President Tony Tan with the Distinguished Science Alumni Award recipients.


President Tony Tan congratulates one of the Outstanding Science Alumni Award recipients, Mr James TOI.


Spectacular performance by Dr KOH Khee Meng and his wife.